Tags

, , , , , ,

Ahh summer.  After all the finals and goodbyes at school, I’ve been relishing the freedom.  No more assignments, no more classes, and definitely no more microwave-only foods.
Unfortunately, I didn’t plan my summer out as well as I should have, and am in the midst of a sort of job-boredom crisis.  More on that to follow.

Anyways, here is a quick look at some things I’ve been enjoying lately: I have been MIA here for a while, and think it’s time to get back into blogging.

IMG_3043

Some delicious garlic-y stir-fried pea shoots my dad brought over for me before and during finals

IMG_3044

TJ’s coconut oil! So cheap, and great for baking

IMG_3051

“Sloth on a stick” for my roommate. We started doing creative exchanges – she asked for a sloth, and this is what she got.

IMG_3052

Aaaand the other side

IMG_1232

Oh. my. goorsh. I became so obsessed with making these. Delicious, savory, cornmeal-scallion & zucchini pancakes.

IMG_1227

The addition of black salt really takes these over the edge – I was craving something ‘eggy’ and the yellow color and slight creaminess of the cornmeal, coupled with the sulfuric content of black salt, really gave me the satisfaction of eating something with eggs, yet remaining vegan.

IMG_1221

Huge haul from strawberry picking in Cary, NC. These were so yum! Pesticides-ridden, yes, but much fresher and more local than anything in the grocery store.

IMG_1194

A sweet redbean bun

IMG_1197

IMG_3050

Reuben, my dog in NC. He chills out a lot, and loves coconut oil as much as I do

IMG_1207

Vegan, paleo cookies. So delish! I’ve made 3 batches of these, all with some variations.

IMG_1234

Vegan conscious box – some good stuff! I really liked the raw choc-coconut macaroons. Those went fast

IMG_1235

Just another look at the same conscious box

My life so far.  I’m in California now, just chilling out at home in Fremont, CA after being let go from my job.  Currently pursuing a part-time data entry job they said they’d call me about, but we’ll see.

Anyways, I hope you guys are having a great summer so far, and good luck with your exams if you’re still taking any!  And if you’re on the road – enjoy the sights and sounds, there’s only going to be that ‘one moment’ to experience life.  So live it to the fullest.

