Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was a little awkward, to say the least.

But it is about family.  Ours is just a little… off-kilter.  Too much emphasis on food, too little on bonding and actually talking. For example:  4 meats.  Strangers staying too.  Did I mention my dad’s side is super Asian?

I mean Thanksgiving for us is just an excuse to cook loads of Western food.  Which I’m fine with.

It’s just that being vegan makes it a little harder – but I made some good things nonetheless.  While I’m glad it’s over, it was good to see my siblings again.

Oh, and I stuffed myself silly – with relatively healthy foods.

Cheezy Brown Rice Casserole, before baking

After baking: This was delicious!  I made a ridiculous amount by overestimating how much brown rice I  made, but it’s all disappeared into several happy bellies.

Roasted veggies:

Sweet potato fries, pre-baked.  Heavenly.  The pie in the back is my brother’s, non-vegan. Stuffing below, non-vegan.

Sprouted quinoa stuffing for my stuffed pumpkin – I added some veggies, leftover brown rice, sun-dried tomatoes, curry paste and cheeze sauce.

The main entrée – Stuffed Kabocha!  This delicious beauty was stuffed with my curry quinoa stuffing from above – I ate an entire pumpkin’s worth of stuffing.  Such good belly food.

Besides the fact that I love kabocha, this dish was so fun and almost too pretty to eat!  I got lots of oohs and ahhs for this.  And it’s a really flexible dish – you can use whatever pumpkin/winter squash and any stuffing you want.  I just loved how the outside kabocha was also edible, it really made me smile.

My plate: Brown rice casserole at top and roasted veggie medley on bottom.

The rated R remains of my feast (look, a fork-holder!)

Dessert: Chocolate Pumpkin PB Cups!  YUM.  I cannot stress how delicious these were – they were delicious, I made 20 and literally ate 10.  No one else was interested in these when there were 5 pies to sample… sad face.

I’ll be posting a recipe for some of these in the future, so stay tuned!

