Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was hesitant about creating this post.

As you can see the end result/picture isn’t very pretty:

But they tasted amazing, even if they were a bit burnt.

Something about baked bananas just sticks to me.  A steaming bite seemed to bring back memories: Deep-fried bananas in a market, sticky rice and bananas neatly wrapped in banana leaves, and campfire-roasted banana halves.  Yum.  Bananas in Southeast Asia have such a mellow sweetness to them that I sometimes find it hard to call the yellow fruits we have here ‘true’ bananas.

The texture was somewhat creamy as the bananas were quite ripe but they maintained their shape well. I had sprinkled on some brown sugar before baking in the hopes of a caramelization.  Unfortunately I failed to check up on them and the syrup coming from the fruits burned all too quickly.

It was saddening to pull the dejected tray from the oven but I ate them anyways, because hey, they were baked bananas.  And they still tasted amazing.

Ingredients:

– 3 ripe bananas

– Brown sugar (Optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
With the skin on cut the bananas in half lengthwise, then peel carefully.  Grease a baking sheet and place the banana halves cut-side down.  Sprinkle with brown sugar and maybe a pinch of salt.

Bake for 30 minutes, then check periodically until they are as brown as you desire.

(I would suggest broiling for the last 5 minutes to get a nice caramelization)

The tray of bananas all prepped for the oven

I’ll try baking them in the peel next time – an endeavor I will gladly undertake.

